Top Ten Fantasy Books I Should Read

Writers (and readers) are always looking for more fiction to consume – but sometimes, books fall through the cracks of my To-Be-Read list. In this Top Ten List, I look at the fantasy novels I’d really like to read (and can’t believe I haven’t read already).

1. Lirael (Garth Nix)cover_lirael3[1]

I routinely call myself a rather passionate Garth Nix fan, and yet somehow, I’ve never read past Sabriel in his Old Kingdom series. It’s moving up higher on my TBR list.

 

2109230-ml-63513[1]. The Golden Compass (Philip Pullman)

An epic fantasy series (His Dark Materials) that even saw a theatrical release – and sadly, I haven’t even read the first book. In fact, I don’t known anything about the series, except something about an armored battle polar bear – which is enough to convince me to read this.

 

3. The Gunslinger (Stephen King)The+Gunslinger[1]

I’ll admit something I feel terrible about – I’ve never read a King novel. As a writer, I feel that’s probably shameful, but his name has always carried connotations of horror (and I don’t get enjoyment from being scared). But his 1980s fantasy epic, The Dark Tower, is supposedly one of the best – and after the 2003 rewrite, King says it should be more accessible to new readers now.

 

162e4e01849510b0ac0557e1daf165d5[1]4. The Return of the King (J.R.R. Tolkien)

Ouch. Another shameful secret of mine – I’ve never actually completed Tolkien’s epic. I’ve come close, several times, but then something happens and I lose interest or put the book down. Then I always feel compelled the re-read the whole thing again – from the Hobbit onwards. One day….

 

 

5. Legend (Marie Lu) marie-lu-legend[1]

Pulling some urban fantasy/dystopians onto the list now – I’ve heard a fair amount about the Legend series, and I’d like to investigate further.

 

divergent-book-cover2[1]6. Divergent (Vernoica Roth)

Continuing the dystopian trend, I’d like to read the (seemingly divisive) series that’s already made it to film. It’s probably closer to Sci-Fi genre, but I consider it more urban fantasy (based on the film, at least).

 

7. The Aftermath (D.J. Molles)Molles_TheRemainingAftermath-TP.jpg[1]

As far as post-apocalyptic zombie-killing urban-fantasies go, I rather enjoyed the first installment (The Remaining), but somehow never continued the series.

 

12971_original[1]8. Vampire Academy (Richelle Mead)

I don’t usually go for paranormal romance or vampires as a whole, but when a series like Vampire Academy has thousands (maybe millions) of fans shouting its praises (and a movie), I should probably pay attention.

 

Angel+Experiment+book+cover[1]

9. The Angel Experiment (James Patterson)

I’ve heard of the Maximum Ride series, but have never read anything from James Patterson before. This seems like a good place to start.

 

n416504[1]10. The 5th Wave (Rick Yancey)

And rounding out the list is another dystopian that’s definitely more sci-fi than fantasy, but in any case, I’m including it on my list after seeing some incredible reviews from my Twitter friends. I haven’t read a good alien invasion novel in a while – here’s hoping 5th Wave breaks that drought.

 

 

 

Did I miss anything? Are there books you think I should read ASAP? Leave a comment below!

Thanks for reading!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Rachel-Annette Merlo-Picone says:

    I’ve only read divergent. I’ve heard really good things about the 5th wave though, I need to get on that! I think you should read the Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta if you haven’t already, I love them! – Annette

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      I haven’t read the Lumatere Chronicles, but I’m always open to new TBR suggestions! Thank you!

      Like

  2. Heather says:

    Okay, okay, okay. Do you want to know the story of how I read Return of the King? I knew I was never going to be able to read it unless I was TRAPPED and it was the only thing to read. And so we went to Nebraska, where I had no Internet access. And then we went to my grandmother’s funeral, where I also had even less internet access and I did not want to talk to anybody. And then for six hours I read the heck out of that book, and got through about 80% of it, and finished the rest of it before midnight because I was on a roll.

    It’s doable, but have fun pushing on through. It’s a hard read. I hope you enjoy the other books, as well!

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      Oh wow. I seriously hope I don’t need a death in the family to finish RotK…But you are right – you really need to be dedicated to finish the series. Perhaps I need a really long plane flight somewhere!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      1. Heather says:

        Yeah, I hope the same for you, too. A plane flight is a good alternative, though. XD

        Like

Leave a comment