Opinion: The Benefits and Dangers of Binge-reading

There’s nothing quite like discovering a new series that you’ve never read before, and throwing yourself head-first into the pages. After all, readers know better than anyone else what the painful wait between novels is like, as the calendar crawls toward the release date. Binge-reading skips the wait and delivers a unique reading experience, but it’s not without both benefits and dangers.

I started thinking about this post while reading the Throne of Glass book series. With my latest review for Heir of Fire, I could hear the tiredness in my own voice, and when I started on the prequel, The Assassin’s Blade, I was really beginning to suffer the bad side-effects of binge-reading.

I’ve had some fantastic experiences with binge-reading before – I powered through the Maze Runner and Percy Jackson series in short order, and thoroughly enjoyed both. I particularly love getting into a series – feeling part of the universe and really understanding the authors’ vision.

One of binge-reading’s greatest benefits is the connection you form with the characters. When you’re waiting a year or more for the next installment in a series, it’s easy to forget characters and their motivations. Reading books consecutively, you can form a deeper personal bond with the character; but it’s not without its dangers.

Binge-reading can easily reveal character flaws. Obviously every character won’t appeal to every reader, but with the healthy gap of time surrounding a novel, it’s easy to forgive and forget a few questionable decisions or an attitude that irritates you. But reading back-to-back, it’s hard to hide from that. Authors deserve praise for keeping their characters consistent across multiple novels, but if the character is frustrating you, then the effect is only compounded.

Subtle details are easier to notice while binge-reading, including clever subplots and symbolism. As a writer, I spend far more time than I should inserting ‘Easter Eggs’ into my chapters, or weaving understated plot threads that would only make sense on a re-read or by paying very close attention. Binge-reading helps readers to pick up on these elements, because we become familiar with the author’s style, and feel comfortable enough with the imagined world to start noticing the small details.

Sometimes though, it’s the large details that you want – backstory is vital to keeping a series moving forward. A lot of sequels spend time recapping the last novel, assuming the reader has taken a break. With binge-reading, this isn’t necessary, and if a series isn’t expanding its lore and canon, it’s very noticeable. Oftentimes readers want to know just as much about the past of our world and characters, as whatever is happening now.

The final thing I love most about binge-reading is simply experiencing the entire series in one glorious hit. Reading is addictive, and reading a great series even more so. Whether you’ve started a manga (Death Note, I’m looking at you), or embarking on a YA or epic fantasy series, there’s an undefinable bookish urge to know how it all ends – and binge-reading is the perfect excuse to dive into the deep end.

My last complaint about binge-reading is the bookish hangover. You all know what I’m talking about – it happens after every amazing novel, and it’s worse when you’ve just finished a trilogy. That strangely empty feeling you have inside, unsure of what book could possibly fill the void left behind; in the worst situations, you’ll be reduced to a shade of your former self, needing copious amounts of chocolate and fangirling to repair.

And of course, how could I possibly forget the fangirling? Is there anything better than finally knowing all the spoilers, and being able to talk freely with the amazing bookish communities that surround our favorite series? Binge-reading means you don’t have to fear accidentally reading about a character death or shocking plot-twist; and even better, it means you can now torment new readers by vaguely suggesting things about the later books! The fan communities are some of the best places you can be – filled with people who adore the same novels as you, and who are always there to discuss characters, ships, and those heart-breaking moments that kept you going back page after page.

So those are my thoughts on the benefits and dangers of binge-reading! Do you prefer binge-reading, or do you like taking a gap between novels? Was there something I didn’t talk about? Leave a comment below, and consider sharing my post, or subscribing to my blog!

Thanks for reading!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    I have a few series I want to binge read this next year. The Mistborn books, The Raven Cycle after they’re all out and The Winners Curse once they’re out as well. It is SO hard waiting between releases. Before I was part of the community I mostly did this and it was enjoyable. Now I have to be in agony of waiting xD

    Great post Brett!

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      I have the first Mistborn novel on my TBR, and I know I should read Raven Cycle too! And yes, the agony between novels – I’m dying to read Glass Sword, and A Torch Against the Night, both coming next year hopefully!

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

      Like

  2. I almost always take gaps between novels because … omg I don’t even KNOW why. I just never can seem to sit down and read one series straight through. I always want to break it up with other novels. Although I told myself I had to at least TRY, so I did binge the Tithe trilogy by Holly Black. I’m glad I did! Because I didn’t love the first two books and if I’d decided to “read the last one another day” I probably wouldn’t have gotten to it. (And it was aaaamazing. XD) I semi-binge read the first Percy Jackson series too. I read like 3 of the 5 books in a row. And I got all the plots and things mixed up. #awkward

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      Interesting – I get ‘burned out’ with binge-reading sometimes, and I agree that taking a break is good. Sometimes I break with completely different genres; and yes, getting plots confused is super awkward, especially with dedicated fans who judge you…

      Thanks for reading and commenting Cait!

      Like

  3. Beatrice Masalunga says:

    Wonderful post, Brett! Usually I binge-read series when I’m trying to catch up on a complete book series or when I loved the first book in a series. Particularly if it’s a guilty pleasure kind of series. The only problem in binge-reading series.. I tend to crave for more and I feel like my reading experience is too short.

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      Hi Beatrice! I know what you mean – sometimes reading so much in such a short period of time, you feel like it’s over too quickly! Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

      Like

  4. I love binge reading, mainly because I am an impatient soul and I need to know what happens next! I also find that if I don’t get the sequel in my hand RIGHT THIS MOMENT I will forget about the series 1-2 months down the line, I am a flaky fangirl. The only bad thing about it is writing reviews, as it starts sounding so repetitive ‘Celaena was badass, the world building became more developed etc etc’. I get bored even writing it, I wonder what my readers must feel XD

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      Those cliffhanger endings, nobody likes them! I absolutely know what you mean about reviews – for some series, I wait and do a series review; and I try to keep the later reviews shorter, but it can feel repetitive after a while…

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

  5. I love binge reading a series. I’m the kind of girl that gets really impatient once I finish a book I love and so to have the next installment ready and waiting for me is quite a relief. However, some series do require a break in between because sometimes the book can be very intense, serious and dark and you just kind of need to breathe before going to the next one.

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      Hi there Lois! I’m impatient too, I completely understand that! The breather is important too – sometimes it’s better to ignore your cravings, take a break, and come back to the series completely refreshed!

      Thanks so much for reading!

      Like

  6. Josephine Knight says:

    Wow, Brett you really opened my eyes about some of the downsides to binge reading!! Many of these I totally didn’t realise or even think of. Personally binge reading is my favourite thing in the world. I love being able to read through the entire story of a trilogy or series back to back and just fly through with no boundaries. It makes me more and more engaged with the story of a series whn I do so.
    But you’re right with the book hangover. It gets so intense after reading an entire series in one go! But I don’t tend to find flaws when binge reading!

    Great post! 😊

    Like

    1. Brett Michael Orr says:

      Hi Josephine! Binge-reading is amazing and everyone has so many different stories to tell about it! I definitely feel more engaged, but the hangover is the *worst*!

      Thanks so much reading and commenting!

      Like

  7. Heather says:

    Binge reading is nice sometimes, like you said, because I do think you get to see a lot more of the details that you’d forget about over the months… That is, if you don’t reread them while you’re waiting. At least for me, I’d disagree slightly in that I don’t develop hardly any relationship with characters I binge-read. They’re there and then they’re gone and I forget about them forever. When I have to wait for a book, I develop a deeper relationship because I ponder their fate all the time and get really excited and into all the details while I wait. Binge-reading just sort of glosses over the romance of reading, I think. *shrugs* But that is just my opinion. Binge-reading is still fun sometimes, and hey, we do have to wait if we want quality books on the other end. It is both good and bad!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Brett Michael Orr
  9. Kay says:

    I binge-read a lot this past year. I’ve always been a big reader so it’s not much of a surprise. I had been grounded from practically anything pertaining to technology and had to find something else to do. I remembered how I used to read a lot and now I don’t. I picked up reading and read about 30+ books throughout the school year. There was actually a contest to see who could read one million words and I won it by being the first one to reach it. (Probably because I read a couple Harry Potter books Lol.) Since it’s the Summertime now I figured why not get some reading done? Usually my mom has me read in fear of me getting Summer Slide so it’s always just been a thing I do. I’m about a month into my Summer vacation and I’ve read 4 books which is pretty low for me. Although I was reading The Diabolic but I could not get myself into it which I think threw off my reading. I basically just assumed I wouldn’t get into any other books since I didn’t understand that one. Eventually I read a different book and fell in love with it. I’m currently on my 5th book of the Summer and hope to read at least 20 books. I read 22 books last Summer although my goal was 25. :/ Anyways I guess I’ll try to get 25 this year!

    Like

Leave a comment